El Remate

Seems as though I need to do some catching up on how life has been down here in Guatemala. A weekend back or so I visited some travelers I befriended who were staying in El Remate. It was a short packed bus ride to El Remate between an old man and a dad. The old man I don’t think could hear me trying to talk to him or my Spanish was so horrible he had no clue what I was saying, either way my attempts at conversation were futile. On the other side was a friendly Guatemalan dad with a sleepy 4 year old on his lap. The dad was very kind and he and his friend helped me out. When the bus driver’s assistant made his way to the back of the bus where I was sitting collecting money he told me I had to pay more after I handed him the amount the others around me were paying. He wanted more from me since I was a traveler and therefore made of money as many here think. The dad with the son on his lap and his friend on his other side told the assistant I was their cousin so don’t bother me about paying more and then the driver was ok with me paying the same amount as the rest of the people. They also helped me get off the bus at the right spot and told me how to get to the hostel I was looking for, since I hadn’t been there before and didn’t know. It was very nice of them I thought. El Remate was very relaxing. Since there isn’t really much there but a beautiful lake and a hot sun, I spent most of my weekend swimming.

When people ask me my favorite color I just have tell them to visit El Remate and look into the lake. The clear blue green amidst the darting fish is the best color I've decided.

When people ask me my favorite color I just tell them to visit El Remate and look into the lake. The clear blue green amidst the darting fish is the best color I’ve decided.

The local young boys would scurry up the poll of the huts in the water and jump from the roof, so I thought I would give it a try. It was pretty hard to scurry straight up the poll, but I made it and jumped in the water.

The ever rising lake has made these huts a little useless as places to sit and have a picnic or something of the sort, since you have to swim through water to get to them. But they are perfect to climb and jump off of.

The ever rising lake has made these huts a little useless as places to sit and have a picnic or something of the sort, since you have to swim through water to get to them. But they are perfect to climb and jump off of.

I stayed at a little hostel, but it was more like a house that the family opened up for travelers to stay at. It was kind of like having a Guatemalan family for the weekend. I spent my evenings playing word games with the 9 year old girl and the days chasing both the little girls and having them climb on back and order me to take them around the place. The older girl was determined to convince me a tarantula lived in my room and that there were huge anacondas just outside my door that were waiting to eat me. When I asked her to show me them she showed me some empty holes in the ground and then said they must not be home. As I was packing on Sunday to go back to San Benito, the little girls said they wanted to help me, well in reality they did the opposite. The girls took everything out of my bag one by one and asked me what it was. They found some makeup and decided they needed to put some on me. I ended up with mascara in my eyebrows and eyeliner on my cheeks, but the girls seemed to think it was a good look for me.

When the little girls help you pack.

When the little girls help you pack.

Then they found my face wash and so ran down to get a bucket of water so they could wash their faces. I then used the bucket to scrub away at my face and try and get the mascara out of my eyebrows. So it took a while, but eventually everything ended up back in my bag and I headed back to San Benito in the bus after getting a frozen coco con leche.

This horse knew what was up and that the only place to be in the mid day heat is the lake.

This horse knew what was up and that the only place to be in the mid day heat is the lake.

Leave a Reply

