Change of Scenery

I began this summer working in a little school down the way from where I am living here in San Benito. But I have since moved to work in an orphanage. Like I mentioned before, those who have tend to want more and since they have the power to take more they tend to do just that.  The teachers in the little school I was working in joined other teachers across Guatemala on strike to protest for higher wages since the government was robbing them of adequate living wages. Strike for the teachers meant no school for the kids and therefore no place for me to teach. So María helped me set up something similar to what I was doing in the school, but in an orphanage. Now I am working with 37 girls from age 4 to age 18 helping them with their English, doing physical activities with them and making art with them.

The girls playing soccer, or some game of the sort.

The girls playing soccer, or some game of the sort.

Homework help time.

Homework help time.

I very much enjoy being in the orphanage with these girls; they are some of the most alive and happy girls I have met. When I walk in the gate sweaty and hot from walking they all come over to greet me with a hug and a kiss on the cheek. Then they pull me by the hand to either play some soccer or basketball or sit with them and draw or teach them English. I was preparing myself to lead lessons with the girls, but turns out they are full of ambition and just sit me down and start firing away asking questions all on their own. So now I spend my day with the girls. A while back I went to a little art store and bought the kids colored pencils, paint, paintbrushes and paper. I need to go buy more pencils because the girls love to draw with me and so the pencils get used everyday and are down to little stubs now.

Princesses are a big hit here. So Sandra drew one with some fancy dogs looks like.

Princesses are a big hit here. So Sandra drew one with some fancy dogs looks like.

The girls drawing some more princesses.

The girls drawing some more princesses.

We drew some minions together.

We drew some minions together.

Just the other day we brought out the paints and did some painting together. The girls really enjoyed painting. Although I didn’t buy enough paintbrushes so some of us ended up finger painting, but that’s more fun than painting with a brush anyways so it wasn’t so bad.

The girls painting away. Surprisingly they painted landscapes and flowers instead of their usual princesses. I was a bit relieved at this development. I can only take so many Disney princesses.

The girls painting away. Surprisingly they painted landscapes and flowers instead of their usual princesses. I was a bit relieved at this development. I can only take so many Disney princesses.

Cheesin'

Leave a Reply

